Armour of God

It’s been awhile since I’ve written (8 months).  I’m hoping to change that starting today.  Lots of changes have happened in my life this year.  Lots of prayer has happened too!  And, I finally decided what I want this blog/website to focus on.  Since I started it, it has gone through several name changes and title changes.  For now, even if the title changes again, the focus won’t – this is going to remain what it has always been – a blog for me to share my spiritual thoughts in writing and now also a website to advertise my love for the practice of Christian Science healing and my willingness to accept patient cases as a Christian Science Practitioner.

So on that note, today’s writing is on the subject of the armour of God.  IMG_2125Why, you might ask?  Because I’ve been thinking about what protects you and me from every ailment, burden, or challenge we may face in life.  What protects you and me is God!  The immensity of God breaks down into many qualities and attributes.  I came across this quote from Ephesians not too long ago and it just struck me that here is something that protects me and keeps me safe as I take forward moving human footsteps in all areas of my life and can’t we all relate to a coat of armour?  Here’s the whole quote below that goes on to talk about each part of the armour.

“…. my brethren, be strong in the Lord, and in the power of his might.  Put on the whole armour of God, that ye may be able to stand against the wiles of the devil. For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world, against spiritual wickedness in high places.  Wherefore take unto you the whole armour of God, that ye may be able to withstand in the evil day, and having done all, to stand.  Stand therefore, having your loins girt about with truth, and having on the breastplate of righteousness; And your feet shod with the preparation of the gospel of peace; Above all, taking the shield of faith, wherewith ye shall be able to quench all the fiery darts of the wicked.  And take the helmet of salvation, and the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God: Praying always with all prayer and supplication in the Spirit, …” (Eph 6:10-18)

The first part of the armour mentioned references protecting our loins with Truth.  The Truth of God helps keep our thought resting on him, rather than on world beliefs.  What are some world beliefs that Truth might protect us from?  Lack, loneliness, and sickness to name a few.  When we focus solely on the Truth of God, there can be no room in our consciousness for our thoughts to dwell on those negative worldly beliefs.

Second, the breastplate of righteousness.  If we’re being righteous, we’re acting in accord with divine law.  We’re being loving, honest, good, humble, and fair.  We’re standing up for others against harsh criticisms, false accusations, etc.  We’re also protecting our own heart against negative attacks of any kind.

Are you wearing the Gospel of Peace on your feet?  Are you walking with God in troubled times and acknowledging His peace for your life?  Jesus said, “Blessed are the peacemakers: for they shall be called the children of God.” (Matt 5:9)  How awesome that we can wear that peace and share that peace in every step of life we take!

My shield of faith is my unwavering trust that God is caring for me, keeping me safe, never leading me astray.  It is a faith that God keeps His many promises to me.  It’s a faith that allows me to overcome any doubt I may have in God’s ability to protect me. It’s a faith that by standing with God, nothing evil can touch me (fiery darts of the wicked).  This shield is not penetrable by evil!  It’s rock solid!

And we all look beautiful in helmets of Salvation!  Maybe not in metal helmets, but in acts of destroying sinful behavior, yes, we look beautiful!  Salvation, in Christian Science, is the realization of the supremacy of infinite Mind (God) over all, it’s “Life, Truth, and Love understood and demonstrated as supreme over all sin, sickness, and death destroyed.” 1  How wonderful to know our thoughts are protected with this helmet!

And finally, I love carrying the sword of the Spirit, the word of God. It is His word that I try to keep first and foremost in my thought.  Some might think the sword is the first thing we use when defending ourselves, therefore making it an offensive weapon, and that is very true – when I start with God, I am protecting myself from the outset.  I also see God’s word as the first line of defense against the attacks of error.  Whenever I’m having a challenge, I try to turn first to the Word of God which I know heals and brings guidance and deliverance from any of those challenges.  It is what I turn to daily in prayer, thereby protecting myself.

I’m so grateful I don’t actually have to wear the old metal armours soldiers used to wear, but that I am wearing an even stronger armour – that of being the child of God, inseparable from His mighty presence, power and law.

IMG_2126

 

1 – Science and Health with Key to the Scriptures by Mary Baker Eddy, pg 593:20

This entry was posted in Healings, Relationship to God, Spiritual Insights and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Armour of God

  1. Maddie Walter says:

    Yea you!!!

Leave a comment